top of page
Writer's pictureTalia Gogel

Thai Inspired Vegan Noodle Stir-Fry

This quick and easy savory noodle recipe is perfect if you're craving classic Thai flavors in a noodle recipe!




If there's one thing about me; I LOVE noodles. Especially an Asian style noodle dish. I came up with this recipe after I made my own vegan fish sauce for a Pad Thai. Since I had a ton of leftover fish sauce and my boyfriend loved the Pad Thai, I figured we should make another Thai-inspired dish. I'm calling it "Thai-inspired" because it doesn't fall under a specific category of Thai noodle dish, but it uses flavors and ingredients that are used in some of the dishes I know and love. Don't cancel me. I also did not necessarily time this so just keep an eye on everything. (Bear with me, I'm new to this)


Thai Inspired Vegan Noodle Stir-Fry

Serves: 2 people

Prep Time: 10 Min | Cook Time : 15-20 Min

Total Time: 20-30 Min


1: Prep Your Ingredients


This recipe makes enough for two people. It can easily be doubled for a larger family. Ingredients for two people:

  • 5 oz of noodles

  • 3.5 oz of sliced carrots

  • 4 oz of sliced zucchini

  • 1/2 small onion

  • 2 cloves of garlic

  • 4 oz of tofu

  • Optional: Couple tablespoons of flour for tofu

For the sauce:

  • 2 tablespoons sugar

  • 2 tablespoons water

  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce

  • 2 tablespoons dark soy sauce

  • 2 tablespoons hoisin sauce

  • 4 tablespoons vegan fish sauce ( I used this recipe )




2: Cook Noodles


Cook your noodles. Follow package instructions. Rice noodles are preferred to be as authentic as possible, but honestly use whatever you have!






3: Fry Tofu & Veggies

Add some flour to your tofu and mix. This will help make it extra crispy. You can skip this step.

  1. In a wok or large frying pan, add you tofu and fry until golden brown. 6-8 Minutes (or longer if you like it super crispy like me)

  2. Once tofu is crispy, add your veggies. Stir often and then cook until soft and slightly crisp. 7-ish minutes.




4: Add Noodles & Tofu To Pan

Add noodles and tofu to pan. Combine well.


5: Add Sauce

Pour sauce over noodle and veggie mixture. Stir to combine.


6: Garnish & Enjoy!

I garnished with some cilantro, but you can add whatever you like! Chili oil, Thai basil, chili flakes, etc.


Notes:

  • I used fettuccine noodles. I know it's borderline disgraceful to use those in a "Thai-inspired" recipe, but it was all I had and I wanted to show that there are NO RULES IN COOKING! Use what you have and it'll be delicious.

  • Use whatever veggies you have! This recipe was created literally because I wanted noodles so I, again, just used what I have! Mushrooms, broccoli, peppers, literally whatever you have will work!

Happy cooking!



28 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page