top of page
Writer's pictureTalia Gogel

Product Review: Color Lux Color Cleansing Conditioner

About 2 years ago, I made an impulsive decision to dye my hair. I hadn't box-dyed my hair in years, but I was feeling impulsive and me and my friend both decided on a change. So what color do you choose when you want to impulsively dye your hair before hosting your friends birthday party?


Hot Pink.

I loved my hot pink hair! Granted, it was definitely not perfect but it was such a big change and I was so excited! At least for the first few days, then once I washed it, it was a hot mess. It was splotchy, uneven and already faded.


That's when I found the Color Lux Color Cleansing Conditioner. According to the description, this product "Colors, Cleanses, and Conditions hair all at the same time. Prevents your hair color from fading and washing out. " This product is also vegan and gluten free


Immediately I found that description to be true! My hair was brighter, even toned and the more and more I used it, the more intense the color became. The instructions were pretty clear: basically pump as much your need into your hand, lather through your hair and let it sit for 2-25 minutes. I typically used mine everytime I washed my hair. I also found my hair felt pretty soft after using it, as well. Another benefit is that this product is hypoallergenic!



How bright my hair turned out!

However, this product definitely was messy. My poor shower and hands were so stained everytime I used it. It came out, but it was definitely a bit inconvenient.


I also wanted to see what other people had to say about this product. After looking at the reviews, a lot of the negative reviews came down to the product not depositing as well as expected. Based on this, I would advise using it as a pick me up on already dyed hair, not a replacement for hair dye.


Another issue with this product is that it is labeled hypoallergenic. According to FDA.org, "There are no Federal standards or definitions that govern the use of the term "hypoallergenic." The term means whatever a particular company wants it to mean. Manufacturers of cosmetics labeled as hypoallergenic are not required to submit substantiation of their hypoallergenicity claims to FDA." This basically means it might not be actually hypoallergenic, which could be an issue depending on the consumer.

Overall Pros & Cons

Pros:

  • Affordable ($10.99 at sallybeauty.com)

  • Tons of color options

  • Perfect for color "pick me up" between hair appointments

  • Conditions hair while cleansing

Cons:

  • Messy

  • May need more product than anticipated

  • Could have weak color pay off

  • Hypoallergenic concerns

Personally, I love this product and would suggest it to any of my friends who dye there hair! I definitely think people should take the risk and try out this products.






8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page