top of page
Writer's pictureTalia Gogel

How I Try To Be a Sustainable Consumer

As a fashion major, sustainability is talked about endlessly in our program, and for good reason. The fashion industry is a major factor in waste creation. According to Good On You, there is about 92 million tons of textile waste produced every year.


I have learned so much over the years about overconsumption, circularity, traceability and basically any other aspect of sustainability. Knowing what I know, I refuse to not do what I can when it comes to creating an impact. Although I can't change the world, hopefully my tiny changes lead to bigger ones. Here are some tips on how you can be a more ethical consumer




1) Buy Less

I know, I know. Shopping is fun! No one wants to cut back on doing something they love, but over-consumption is a major contribution to textile waste. I only buy when I truly need something or see something I can't live without. It also makes the process of going shopping more exciting because I'm not doing it as often.


2) Buy Intentionally

Okay, so now you need to go shopping. What does shopping intentionally mean? Well, it basically means don't spend willy-nilly. When buying basics, it's a good idea to spend a little bit more money higher quality pieces that will last you forever and you don't need to buy again. It might be scary to spend $50 on a single t-shirt, but think about it; would you rather spend $10 over and over again on a crappy shirt or $50 one time on a shirt that will last you forever?


It's also a good idea to research and invest in pieces from sustainable brands. Again, you're purchasing high quality pieces, and by supporting these brands, you're helping them become more accessible to everyone! Some brands I love are Reformation, Pact and Everlane





3) Support Second-hand

I'm a broke college student, so I am always looking to save a few dollars where I can. Plus, thrifting is fun! If you're looking to find cool and unique pieces, check out your local thrift stores and second-hand stores. Don't sleep on these places, you'd be surprised on what you find. Plus, who doesn't love supporting local businesses? Sounds like a win-win to me.


4) Discard Intentionally

Personally, I am terrified of throwing clothing away; I haven't done it in years. I am a firm believer in doing anything else with my unwanted items. Old high school t-shirts I will never wear again? I cut them up and use them as rags when I clean! (Plus, less paper towel use!) Cute clothes that don't fit? Take them to Plato's Closet for some quick cash! Anything else I don't want? Local homeless shelters or thrift stores. 85% of our unwanted clothing end up in landfills, so it's important to find sustainable ways to discard old clothing!


Now you may be thinking, "Talia, WTF do I do with my old socks and underwear? No one wants those!" Fortunately, you could not be more wrong! Let me introduce you to Knickey, a brand who takes your unwanted intimates and transforms them into new materials that can be used for good! Plus, once you recycle, they give you 300 Top Drawer Rewards points and 15% off of your next purchase.




It's important to note that the environmental impact of landfill waste is not solely the responsibility of the consumer. However, that does not necessarily mean you should consumer carelessly. If more people choose to live more responsibly, change is bound to happen.


12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page